Select Page
(Last Updated On: July 20, 2021)

If self-enrollment is enabled on a course in Moodle, users can gain access to it by either simply knowing the location of the course (the URL) or, if additional security is needed, by entering an Enrollment key.

As a professor, you would need to provide students with either the URL of your Moodle course, or the “course short name’ (students would of course also need to know the enrollment key). Providing students the “course short name” allows them to search the Moodle website for your course, but providing them the direct URL is preferable and more straightforward.

The URL of the course can be found in the navigation bar of the browser when you are viewing your course:

  1. To enable Self-Enrollment, open the Course Management menu by clicking on the 3-gear icon in the top navigation bar. Select Enrollment Methods from the User Links column. Please note that while it is possible for instructors to add a self-enrollment option to a Moodle site, this method should only be used in exceptional cases. Enrollment in Moodle courses for regular classes is handled through synchronization with the Registrar’s Office official enrollments. This method is appropriate for Moodle sites that do not involve course registration.
Selecting Enrollment methods from the Course Management menu.

2. On the Enrollment Methods page, from the Add Method menu options at the bottom of the page, select Self enrollment.

Selecting Self-enrollment from the Enrollment methods page.

3. On the Self enrollment settings page, typically you can leave the default settings as is. If you wish to limit self enrollment, you can optionally require the use of an Enrollment Key which you would enter on this page and then give out to the people allowed to self enroll. Once your settings are complete, scroll to the bottom and click the Add method button.

Self enrollment settings page.

4. Once a user has navigated to the location of your course, they will see the enrollment page with an Enroll me button.  

Enroll me button.

5. Once enrolled, the user will be taken to the course homepage and receive a confirmation notice that they are enrolled.

Self enrollment confirmation.